Trustee Information

​​​​​​​​​As locally elected representatives, the five trustees on our Board of Education represent their respective communities' particular strengths, challenges and demands.

The Trustees engage our communities in building and maintaining a school system that reflects local priorities, values and expectations. They listen to their communities, guide the work of their school district and set plans, policies and the annual budget.

Trustee Profiles

​Trustee Eve Flynn 


Phone:  250-240-2845

Trustee Flynn is the Trustee Liaison for Nanoose Bay Elementary School and Ecole Oceanside Elementary School.   Electoral Area E.

Trustee ​Julie Austin 

Vice Chairperson 

Phone:  250-752-4469

Trustee Austin is the Trustee Liaison for Errington Elementary School and PASS/Woodwinds & CEAP Programs.  Electoral Area F.
Carol Kellogg.jpeg

​Trustee Carol Kellogg

Phone:  250-357-9662

Trustee Kellogg is the Trustee Liaison for Qualicum Beach Elementary School and Kwalikum Secondary School.  Electoral Area G.

Trustee ​Barry Kurland

Phone:  250-927-5805

Trustee Kurland is the Trustee Liaison for Bowser Elementary School and Arrowview Elementary School and the International Student Program.  Electoral Area H.

​Trustee R. Elaine Young

Phone:  250-927-0375

Trustee Young is the Trustee Liaison for Springwood Elementary School, False Bay School and Ballenas Secondary School.  Electoral Area G.
 Electoral Areas:
Area E
​Nanoose Bay (portion of District of Lantzville)
​Area F
​Coombs, Hilliers, Errington
​Area G
​City of Parksville, Town of Qualicum Beach, Regional District of Nanaimo Area G (French Creek, Dashwood, Englishman River),   qathet Regional District Area E (Lasqueti Island)
​Area H
​Shaw Hill, Qualicum Bay, Deep Bay, Bowser

More Information

Trustee Elections

The Trustees are elected every four years.

BC School Trustees Association (BCSTA)

Serving and supporting BC's boards of education.

Board Advocacy

Community connections to the Board.